The home of Charles Adonias Millette (1859-1942) and Clémence Mourëz [Mourey] (1863-1939) south of Lac-des-Seize-Îles,
near Argenté Lake.
Source: Luc Lamond
Two distinct migratory routes, one English-speaking and the other French-speaking, took shape during the colonization of the Laurentians. The first, originating from Saint-André-d'Argenteuil, began at the end of the 18th century, giving rise to the hamlet of Lachute, from which certain Irish, Scottish, English and American pioneers from Vermont continued their journey towards the counties of Gore and Wentworth.
The later French-speaking movement spread north and west from Saint-Jérôme and was greatly facilitated by the railroad that spread from Montreal to the Northern Townships beginning in 1876.
Lac-des-Seize-Îles, nestled between the Laurentian hills, was better suited to fishing and vacationing than to farming. However, the land bordering Laurel and Argenté lakes in the southern sector seemed promising enough for settlers of both English and French origin to settle there as early as the mid-19 th century.