Mineralogical Mining HistoryMuseum

Mineralogical and Mining History Museum

The museum showcases minerals from the Jeffrey Mine and asbestos-based industrial products, and also gives information about the local mining history. A Mineral Fair is held on the third weekend of August, as part of the annual Festival des Gourmands. Rock and Mineral workshops are available for Elementary School classes.

Mineralogical and Mining History Museum

The town of Asbestos is well-known for the Jeffrey Mine, a very large open pit mining operation. In 1879, asbestos was discovered and William H. Jeffrey started the mining two years later. The town you see today grew from humble origins as a postal outlet, to a mining camp, to a village, and to its current urban status. An interesting fact about the name Asbestos is that it derives from an English word originating from Greek, which means incombustible.

819 879-6444

Extract of
The Townships Trail - GPS & Virtual Guide

The Townships Trail - GPS & Virtual Guide image circuit

Presented by : Corporation de gestion du Chemin des Cantons

Directions to get there

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.