Saint-Frédéric Church

Saint-Frédéric Church

Built in 1858, the stonefield church of Saint-Frédéric, to which the sacristy (1888) and the front porch (1925) were added afterwards, proudly stands at the heart of the village. The bright inside of the church showcases stained glass windows,  an arch decorated with vine-like patterns, a high altar, a pulpit and paintings made by  artists and experienced craftspeople. The church also owns a Casavant organ acquired in 1909. Also noteworthy, there are no steps to enter the church, which is at ground level. There is a walking tour with ""memory"" signs showing 7 points of interests for the town. Flyers are available at the municipal office. See the link for information:

Source: Parish Corporation of Saint-Frédéric

Inside the Church

At the center of the church, you can see various altars as well as stunning stained glass windows.

Source: Cardinal Louis-Albert Vachon, 150th anniversary book, page 55

Casavant Organ

On February 12, 1909, the Parish Corporation of Saint-Frédéric acquired a Casavant organ for $2,500.  At the time, it was powered by a gas engine.

Source: Parish Corporation of Saint-Frédéric, 150th anniversary book, page 62

The Church Without its Front Porch

Church façade without the front porch.

Source: 150th anniversary book (picture taken before 1925)

Extract of
Saint-Frederic | MRC Beauce Centre Heritage Tour

Saint-Frederic | MRC Beauce Centre Heritage Tour image circuit

Presented by : Municipalité de Saint-Frédéric
Get There

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.