Presbytery

Presbytery, 2010

The presbytery was built in 1919. Its architecture is four-sided, Georgian-type. It boasts 36 openings and a three-faced covered porch. In 1996, the presbytery was sold to the private sector and is currently used as a house. The owners maintained its outside architecture.

Source: Municipality


Presbytery, 1926

Traditionally, the presbytery was the parish priest's residence, where also lived the housekeeper, also called the parish priest's handmaid. The presbytery also welcomed visiting bishops.

Source: Municipality


Barn-Cowshed, 1919

On August 10, 1919, the parishioners assembly decided to build a barn-cowshed behind the presbytery. It was home to farm animals used to feed the parish priest and for his travels in the carriage. That building was moved and torn down afterwards.

Source: Book of the parish's 75th anniversary

Presbytery, 1967

On May 16, 1967, the outside bricks were painted and Abbé Armand Nadeau, parish priest, planted maple trees in front of the presbytery.

Source: Book of Saint-Jules' 75th anniversary 

Extract of
Saint-Jules | MRC Robert-Cliche's Heritage Tour

Saint-Jules | MRC Robert-Cliche's Heritage Tour image circuit

Presented by : Municipalité de Saint-Jules

Directions to get there

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.