Address: 77 Wellington St. South
Lake Temiskaming alone is accountable for the development of Temiskaming in Ontario and Quebec. The lake measures 100 km in length, covers 300 square kilometres and has an average depth, in some areas, of 120 metres. Originating from the Algonquians, the name Temiskaming means “deep water”. The lake acts as a natural border between the two provinces.
Around 1880, steamboats like the Minerve – which would later become the Meteor, Argo and Temiskaming – were the only means for Temiskaming’s new inhabitants to travel the lake and the only way to transport wood. The forestry industry used natural timber rafting to benefit lumber companies. Later, colonization would take place, with new settlers populating the towns that we know today.
The STATO trail is a 14 km non-motorized travel system that connects the former Town of Haileybury, New Liskeard, and Dymond. It is a combination of off-road and on-road cycling lanes. The scenic route emphasizes the beautiful shores of Lake Temiskaming and connects the downtown areas, parks, beaches, schools and business strip to medical services and residential areas. Residents and visitors can easily access the trail, regardless of their skills and abilities.
Enjoy your stroll!