Promenade de la Rivière-du-Nord

An exceptional view of the Rivière du Nord

Nature and history of the heart of downtown

Located in downtown Saint-Jérôme, the 0.6-km (0.37-mile) walk showcases the municipality’s history alongside an exceptional view of the Rivière du Nord. 

Interpretive signs explain how the current courthouse replaced the 1895 Collège commercial de Saint-Jérôme, whose teaching staff included Brother Marie-Victorin, founder of the Montreal Botanical Garden. 

Maison de la culture Claude-Henri Grignon

The teaching establishment had replaced a first college, built in 1874 on Rue Labelle and destroyed by fire in 1891. 

As for the imposing courthouse built in 1969, it replaced the old courthouse at Place du Curé-Labelle, which is now the Maison de la culture Claude-Henri-Grignon.

Extract of
Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires

Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires image circuit

Presented by : Tourisme Laurentides
Get There

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.