Val-David Station

The Petite Gare de Val-David, erected in 1997

A recent construction inspired by the old building

Unlike most restored train stations in the Laurentians, Val-David station was built recently. That being said, it is architecturally similar to the former building, which was sadly destroyed. But, let’s not put the cart before the horse...

Bélisle’s Mill Station

The railroad reached the village of Val-David, formerly called Saint-Jean-Baptiste-de-Bélisle, in 1891. The following year, Canadian Pacific built a groundbreaking station to consolidate its transportation operations, given the strategic location next to the village sawmill, carding mill and gristmill. It was named Bélisle’s Mill Station, after the village water mill. The building, of Swiss architecture, housed the stationmaster and his family on the second floor. 

“I don’t think that there is a railroad in the entire world with a brighter future or of greater benefit to the French People.”
- Curé Labelle

The ski boom

The train was initially supposed to carry goods, lumber, and passengers. In response to the influx of skiers, Canadian National and Canadian Pacific introduced weekend “snow trains” in 1927.

Expansion and restoration of the station

In 1921, the station was significantly expanded. Around 1940, the outside walls were repainted oxblood to camouflage the building during the Second World War. In 1950, it was restored and solidified. Five years later, the “snow trains” disappeared, replaced by the developing road network. 

A new calling

After the railroad was dismantled from Saint-Jérôme to Mont-Laurier, Val-David station was demolished in 1985. Twelve years later, a new station was built in the same sector.

Alongside the P’tit Train du Nord on the former railroad’s right-of-way, the small train station in Val-David is now home to a visitor information centre, a break room and exhibition centre.  

Tourist Information Centre

La Petite gare
2525, rue de l’Église, Val-David, Québec

819 324-5678, ext. 4235
1 888 322-7030, ext. 4235

Open daily from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. from mid-May to Thanksgiving and from mid-December to Easter.

Extract of
Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires

Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires image circuit

Presented by : Tourisme Laurentides
Get There

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.