Arundel Station

An overdue construction

A small building

Though the train passed through Arundel as early as 1896, it wasn’t until 1925 that the company Canadian National built a station there.

Modest in size, the original wood building was located at the intersection of roads that are now called Chemin de la Rouge and Route 364. 

From train station to post office

In 1986, it was relocated to its current location on Route Doctor-Henry, originally named Iroquois Road and connecting Arundel to Huberdeau, its architectural and heritage characteristics preserved. One year later, it became a post office, and has been ever since.

It serves the 600 Arundelites that live in the small municipality known for its agricultural landscapes and breathtaking views of the Vallée de la Rouge. 

Witness of the railway era

Arundel train station is a rare artifact of the region’s railway era, others having been destroyed or rebuilt. When the train was abandoned in 1962, the Canadian National’s railroad footprint, free of its tracks, became a multipurpose trail called the Aerobic Corridor.

It connects the municipalities of Morin-Heights and Amherst over 58 kilometres. Not to be confused with the P’tit Train du Nord linear park, which connects Bois-des-Filions to Mont-Laurier over 234 kilometres, 200 kilometres of which follow an old railroad.

Extract of
Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires

Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires image circuit

Presented by : Tourisme Laurentides
Get There

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.