Agricultural Landscapes of the Rockway Valley and Amherst Sector

Lots of resources to develop

From fishing to hunting to agriculture to wood-cutting

Before 1869, the territory was frequented by the occasional fisher or hunter and inhabited by Algonquins.

In the second half of the 19th century, Father Antoine Labelle invited people to “go up” to the Northern Townships to settle on undeveloped land, in order to counter the exodus of thousands of French Canadians to the United States. 

Log driving as a way of earning a living

For many years, farming, woodcutting, and log driving were these settlers’ bread and butter. There’s no doubt that they would have sold their souls to find a way to get by! The first church of the township of Amherst appeared in 1878.

A municipality made up of three villages

Well before the township became official, squatters from Chelsea, Grenville, Morin-Heights, and elsewhere settled there. The resulting disorderly organization of the population made the municipality unique in that it contained three villages: Rockway Valley, Saint-Rémi-turned-Amherst, and Vendée.

Originally from Londonderry in Ireland, the township’s inhabitants crossed the Rivière Rouge to settle in the southern part of the township in 1877; they were all English-speaking and Protestant.

The most defining legacy of the founding families is the St. George’s Anglican Church built in 1912 by Charles and John Sinclair, carpenters by trade and pioneers.

Extract of
Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires

Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires image circuit

Presented by : Tourisme Laurentides
Get There

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.