Combined Heritage of Saint-Jovite Infrastructure and Station

A municipality predestined for tourism

The importance of winter tourism

One of the 20 parishes created by Curé Labelle after colonizing Mont-Tremblant, in 1872, with 5,000 settlers. Twenty years later, the first train from Montreal arrived.

In 1906, the Wheeler family founded Gray Rocks Inn on the shores of Lac Ouimet. While the inn started the hotel industry in the region, it was destroyed by fire in 2014.

The Municipality of the Village of Saint-Jovite was created in 1917. With the arrival of the snow trains in 1927, the region also welcomed tourists in the winter.

A source of inspiration for Félix Leclerc

It is believed that it was the famous poet and singer Félix Leclerc’s stay in Saint-Jovite in the winter of 1942–1943 that inspired his song “Le train du Nord”.

A station saved from demolition

Saint-Jovite was one of the stations that escaped demolition. Sold in 1987 and relocated to what is now known as the downtown sector of Mont-Tremblant, it was restored by the antique dealer George Kelegher, who aimed to preserve its authenticity.

Since 1988, the former station has housed an Italian restaurant, while its outter walls feature a painting by artist Pierre Hardy depicting the epic tale of the P’tit Train du Nord in the 1930s.

Preservation of heritage infrastructure

Several other frescos along Rue de Saint-Jovite tell its story, just like the heritage buildings themselves, which were preserved. These might be several old houses, the church, or even the Bank of Montreal, which was attacked in May 1934, creating quite the stir among the villagers! The three armed robbers had some nerve attacking a bank in broad daylight and taking off on foot!

Extract of
Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires

Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires image circuit

Presented by : Tourisme Laurentides
Get There

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.