St-Bernard chapel

A close replica

One of the original buildings from the Mont Tremblant Lodge period

This exact replica of the first church, established on Île d'Orléans in 1695, was built in 1942 at the site of Mont Tremblant Lodge, founded by American Joseph Bondurant Ryan.

As the village grew and developed with the arrival of train service in 1904, and then with the 'snow trains' that brought Montreal skiers to Mont-Tremblant in the early 1930s, the region became world renowned for its tourist resort. 

Tales from history, period photos, anecdotes, and videos

The chapel, where visitors have been getting their skis blessed for years, is next to a small cemetery where Joe Ryan, his wife Mary and their son Peter are buried. It is one of the municipality of Mont-Tremblant’s historical points of interest on the Tour 'Les voies de notre histoire (Tracks of Our History)', available on BaladoDiscovery. This one showcases part of the 'History of Mont-Tremblant’s Village and Downtown' Heritage Tour. 

A page from history to discover

A walk along these trails will help you learn about Église Sacré-Coeur-de-Jésus, which today is a cultural and community centre. Or the old Standard Chemical plant that made wood alcohol until about 1926. 

Extract of
Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires

Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires image circuit

Presented by : Tourisme Laurentides
Get There

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.