Bélanger-Miljour Rest Stop

A name inspired by the stationmaster

A historic high place in La Macaza

This must-visit site is where the first train passed through on January 3, 1904. It bears the name of Achille Bélanger, station master from 1942 until its closure in 1964.

The rail bridge originally made out of wood gave way, in 1922, to a rail bridge commonly known as “Pont des chars” (or car bridge) at the first station’s inauguration. It replaced “Daoust station,” the loading station located approximately two kilometres farther north towards Labelle.

The history of the train

An excellent replica of a steam train, with a commemorative plaque relating the history of the railway industry in La Macaza, was added to the site in 2019. 

“Train de vie (Train of life)”, a symbolic work

Just like the sculpture depicting the arrival of immigrants in this cosmopolitan village. Both are the work of local artists. 

Extract of
Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires

Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires image circuit

Presented by : Tourisme Laurentides
Get There

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.