Macaza Bridge at the Confluence of the Macaza and Rouge Rivers

A covered bridge becomes famous

A request from the settlers

This adaptation of the “lattice truss” bridge is the only covered bridge still in its original location in the Vallée de la Rouge. Initially called Rouge bridge when it was built in 1904, it was the result of a petition by settlers who believed that the river was too dangerous to cross by flat-bottomed boat. 

A multipurpose bridge

Like all bridges covered to delay the deterioration of the wood, it is shaped like a barn. This design has the effect of reassuring the horses that pass through it. At the time, covered bridges were also used for public or political meetings, or for lovers to spend time together... 

A stamp bearing its effigy

Macaza bridge is proud of its appearance on a Canada Post stamp in 2013, in addition to its appointment as a historical monument in 2016.

Careful: given the bridge’s weight and height limits, certain vehicles should not enter. 

The Municipality of La Macaza is part of the Route du Lièvre Rouge, a tourist tour developed by the Société d’histoire et de généalogie des Hautes-Laurentides. 

Extract of
Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires

Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires image circuit

Presented by : Tourisme Laurentides
Get There

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.