Facade of Mont-Laurier Cathedral

The Notre-Dame-de-Fourvière cathedral

An inestimable loss

This heritage gem, inaugurated on October 1st, 1919, succumbed to fire on February 1st, 1982. In late afternoon that day, a thick column of black smoke suddenly rose from downtown into the white winter sky. The loss of the building was estimated to be worth two million dollars.

But for the population, the loss was priceless. Both the practicing and non-practicing community grieved. Because of the extraordinary intensity of the blaze due to arson, everything disappeared, including the beautiful beloved stained-glass windows and panels. 

A partially conserved gem

Everything was destroyed, except for the facade, which was restored and conserved. Within the very ruins of the cathedral-turned-emblem of the cultural heritage of Mont-Laurier, a new church was built in 1984. On May 12, 1985, it was dedicated to the hundred-year anniversary of the first settlers in Mont-Laurier, then called Chute-à-l’Orignal. Since 1997, it has featured beautiful stained-glass windows inspired by the originals thanks to generous donors.

“Holy anger is a necessity, without which we are taken advantage of.”
- Curé Labelle

The town of Mont-Laurier is part of the Route du Lièvre Rouge, a tourist circuit developed by the Société d'Histoire et de Généalogie des Hautes-Laurentides.

Extract of
Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires

Discover La Route des Belles-Histoires image circuit

Presented by : Tourisme Laurentides
Get There

Download the BaladoDiscovery app (for Android and iOS) and access the largest network of self-guided tour experiences in Canada.